PA Vacancy

Female Personal Assistant (BH/DP/001/18)

Job Title: Female Personal Assistant

Hours: 10 hours per week

Flexibility around days and hours is essential as is the ability to work additional shifts as required

Rate of Pay: £9.00 per hour

Purpose of Job

I live in the Fawdon area of Newcastle upon Tyne with my husband, our eleven-year-old daughter and our cat. I have a spinal cord injury and am paralysed from the chest down with limited hand function. I use a manual wheelchair to get around and need assistance with many aspects of daily living.

I am looking for a female PA to physically assist me with various daily living tasks, which will enable me to get on with parenting, self-employment and general day-to-day living.

I am looking someone who is respectful, open-minded, reliable and flexible. You will work under my instruction, being accountable to me in all aspects of your work, so you must be comfortable taking instruction as well as working on your own initiative.

An understanding of confidentiality and the ability to respect my and my family’s privacy is essential.

My husband works shifts and when he is not at home I need someone to take my daughter to school in the morning. It is therefore essential that you can work a variety of shifts over the week, some starting at 7.15am.

I also require a PA with a clean driving licence and you must be over the age of 25, with no endorsements on your licence for insurance purposes. You will be required to assist me with transfers and push my wheelchair, so you must be able to handle the physical skills of pushing, lifting and bending. You do not have to be physically strong to do the job; however, good general health is important.

To apply please email directpayments@disabilitynorth.org.uk (ref BH/DP/001/18) or click here BHDP00118 App Form