PA Vacancy

Personal Assistant – MJCNCL

Location: Newbiggin Hall, Newcastle (NE5)

Hours: Term time 7 hours a week – School Holidays 10 hours a week.

Rate of Pay: £12 – £15 per hour depending on qualifications and experience.



We’re looking for a personal assistant (PA) for our son Matthew Jativa-Calle (14 years old). His PA would be responsible to take him out in the community where he can have fun and socialise – he particularly enjoys walking around Metrocentre and visit Fun Shack Softplay.

Matthew is not a great talker but can use his body language to communicate with you. He is from a bilingual background (Spanish and English) so enjoys learning the meaning of everyday sentences, for example if you ask “Matthew in English: Good Morning… and in Spanish?” he’ll reply “Buenos Dias” straight back to you. So, if you’re particularly interested in learning / speaking Spanish you have definitely found the right person.

Matthew is a happy and loving boy, easy-going and able to follow your instructions when you manage to connect with him. He is strong and active, although he can “zone out” / lie down on the floor as too much information can cause him stress, anxiety, and possibly physical pain (sensory overload). Matthew’s favourite activities include: dancing,  trampoline, swimming and visiting parks and playgrounds.

Matthew loves reading almost anything that is in front of him, so this is a great opportunity to interact and build good rapport with him. When going outdoors Matthew can walk on his own, however he needs supervision at all times as he might not be fully aware of the risks around him, he does not understand about social rules and may invade other peoples’ personal space.

Matthew was diagnosed with ASC since he was 2 years old so he has been attending Thomas Bewick, an Autism Specialist school from a very young age. Matthew can eat and drink independently but he requires support with his personal care (e.g. toileting, prompting to eat/drink slowly). He is an excellent eater with no food allergies. Fish/Chicken & Chips, Sausages and Ice Cream are top on his list.

Despite his learning difficulties, Matthew is making a great progress towards his personal goals. We’re particularly focused on his independence and want to explore more about his natural talents (for example in music and with numbers) in order to boost his self-confidence and bring out the best in him.

Matthew’s PA should be a patient, compassionate and empowered carer. Applying a person-centred approach, you’ll allow Matthew time to process his information and provide support when immersed in repetition or stimming behaviours.

A driving licence would be ideal but not essential as Matthew enjoys trips on the local buses.

For more information, please see the Job Description

This vacancy will close as soon as a suitable candidate is appointed.

At the time of starting their employment, the successful candidate must have permission to work in the U.K.


Ubicación: Newbiggin Hall, Newcastle (NE5)

Horas: Durante el periodo lectivo 7 de a la semana – Durante vacaciones 10 horas a la semana.

Tarifa de Pago: £12 – £15 por hora dependiendo de Calificaciones y Experiencia.



Buscamos un asistente personal para nuestro hijo Matthew Jativa-Calle (14 años). Su asistente personal sería responsable de llevarlo a sitios en la comunidad donde pueda divertirse y socializar; le gusta especialmente caminar por Metrocentre y visitar Fun Shack Softplay.

Matthew no es un gran conversador, pero puede usar su lenguaje corporal para comunicarse contigo. Él es bilingüe (Español e Inglés), por lo que le gusta aprender el significado de oraciones cotidianas, por ejemplo, si le preguntas “Matthew en inglés: Buenos días… ¿y en español? Él te responderá inmediatamente “Buenos Días”. Entonces, si estás particularmente interesado en aprender/hablar en Español, habrás encontrado definitivamente a la persona correcta.

Matthew es un chico feliz y cariñoso, tranquilo y capaz de seguir tus instrucciones cuando logras conectar con él. Es fuerte y activo, aunque puede “desconectarse” o tumbarse en el suelo, ya que demasiada información puede provocarle estrés, ansiedad y posiblemente dolor físico (sobrecarga sensorial). Las actividades favoritas de Matthew incluyen: bailar, hacer trampolín, nadar y visitar parques y áreas de juego.

A Matthew le encanta leer casi cualquier cosa que tenga frente a él, por lo que es una gran oportunidad para interactuar y establecer una buena relación con él. Cuando sale al aire libre, Matthew puede caminar solo, sin embargo, necesita supervisión en todo momento, ya que es posible que no sea plenamente consciente de los riesgos que lo rodean, no comprende las reglas sociales y puede invadir el espacio personal de otras personas.

A Matthew le diagnosticaron ASC desde que tenía 2 años, por lo que ha asistido a Thomas Bewick, una escuela especializada en autismo desde muy joven. Matthew puede comer y beber de forma independiente, pero necesita apoyo con su cuidado personal (por ejemplo, ir al baño, pedirle que coma y beba lentamente). Es un excelente comensal y no tiene alergias alimentarias. El pescado, el pollo y las patatas fritas, las salchichas y el helado encabezan su lista.

A pesar de sus dificultades de aprendizaje, Matthew está logrando grandes avances hacia sus objetivos personales. Estamos especialmente centrados en su independencia y queremos explorar más sobre sus talentos naturales (por ejemplo, en la música y los números) para aumentar su confianza en sí mismo y sacar lo mejor de él.

El asistente personal de Matthew debe ser un cuidador paciente, compasivo y empoderado. Al aplicar un enfoque centrado en la persona, le dará tiempo a Matthew para procesar su información y brindarle apoyo cuando esté inmerso en conductas repetitivas o de autoestimulación.

Un permiso de conducir sería ideal, pero no esencial, ya que a Matthew le gustan los viajes en los autobuses locales.





    IMPORTANT: The form must be completed in full or your application may be rejected.
    A curriculum vitae will not be accepted as a substitute.

    Required fields are marked *.

    Your Personal Details

    Telephone number

    Do you hold a current full, clean driving licence which is valid in the UK?
    Do you have your own transport?

    Please list your previous occupations (paid or unpaid):

    Employer 1

    Employer 2

    Employer 3

    Employer 4

    Employer 5

    Employer 6

    Employer 7

    Employer 8

    Employer 9

    Employer 10


    Please give details of your education/training including any qualifications relevant for this role:

    Education/Training 1

    Education/Training 2

    Education/Training 3

    Education/Training 4

    Education/Training 5

    Education/Training 6

    Education/Training 7

    Education/Training 8

    Education/Training 9

    Education/Training 10


    Because of the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is exempt from the provisions of Section 4 (2) of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 (Exemptions Order 1975). Applicants are not entitled therefore to withhold information about convictions which, for other purposes, are 'spent' under the provisions of the Act unless they are subject to filtering. Any information given will be completely confidential.

    Declaration: Have you had any criminal convictions that are not subject to filtering?
    If yes, please give full details. Use a separate sheet if necessary

    Please give the details of two people who have agreed to act as referees for you. One must be a current or most recent employer if you have one; they should not be a member of your close family.

    Contact following Interview but Prior to Job offer?
    Contact following Interview but Prior to Job offer?

    Your application will be passed on via email or post to the service user or their nominated person who is advertising.

    Disability North will electronically store your application form for 6 months after this recruitment ends, it will then be deleted.

    If you are successful your application form will be stored electronically throughout the course of your employment and 6 months thereafter. It will then be deleted. We may share your information with our payroll service in order for them to carry out the payroll service to your employer.

    To view Disability North’s Privacy Notices visit