Social Personal Assistant JD/NCL

15 hours per week

(To be arranged includes evenings and weekends)

 Newcastle Upon Tyne

 £13.00 per hour

 I am an independent and active 20-year-old university student, living at home with my family. I’m currently studying my 2nd year of a Sports Management degree at Northumbria University. My passions include a variety of sports and I regularly play football and work out at the gym most days. My genetic condition means that I will benefit from the support of a Personal Assistant, especially during (but not limited to) low light and dark conditions. I also would like to develop my independent living skills for the future.


I am an avid Newcastle United supporter, and the role would include watching football at a variety of venues, hopefully including St James’s Park! I also play pool and attend the University Pool Club on a weekly basis. A personal assistant would also support me to attend the cinema, concerts, or other sports events either on a one-to-one basis or with a group of friends. Many of these happen at night or at weekends so this role requires a willingness to provide assistance outside of “office hours” but will guarantee some good events!

The other requirement of this role is to support me to develop independent living skills, including cooking and building my knowledge of household tasks. I enjoy cooking, and a personal assistant’s role will be to support me to overcome challenges to be more independent.

Ideally, I’m looking for a personal assistant who can be flexible with offering support during evenings and weekends; enjoys being physically active, has a good sense humour, enjoys talking about sport and has a passion for social justice.

For further details  job description

This post is exempt under the Equality Act 2010 schedule 9 paragraphs 1 – 4.

At the time of starting their employment, the successful candidate must have permission to work in the U.K.